Kids create tech to change the world

Fields marked with an * are required

Subscribe to our newsletter

STANSW Young Scientist Award Presentation Ceremony 2015

Since 1992, the STANSW Young Scientist Awards run by the Science Teachers’ Association of New South Wales (STANSW) has been inspiring school-age kids to pursue studies in science and technology. To enter the Awards, students submit a scientific investigation and/or a working model of an invention.

The Young Scientist Awards offers students from Kindergarten to Year 12 incentives to carry out scientific investigations and inventions, and also provides teachers with valuable resources and professional learning opportunities.

Students in NSW schools carry out scientific investigations or inventions as part of their school’s science or technology programs. The Young Scientist categories and judging rubrics are designed to support the processes of Working Scientifically or Working Technologically in the respective NSW syllabuses.

AARNet is proud to be a sponsor of this year’s Awards, which have attracted a record number of entries from a record number of schools.

At the presentation ceremony held at the University of Wollongong on 4 November, the students had the privilege of being addressed by world-renowned entomologist Dr. Chris Reid, who encouraged them all to continue being curious and to follow their passions.

Congratulations to all the Young Scientist Award winners, in particular to the winners of the AARNet Communications Award:

  • Years K-6, equal 1st, Elio Forte, Bondi Public School, with her project ‘Can I move salt using sound waves?’ and Emma Yap, Abbotsleigh, with her project ‘A Mobile Phone App Coordinating School Carpools’.
  • Years 7-12, Lachlan Bolton, Redeemer Baptist School, Self-adjusting microphone stand and Sebastian Hodge, Newington College, CPU Clock Speed and Performance.

This year saw more entries than ever before, and AARNet looks forward to continuing our partnership and supporting the trajectory of scientific investigation with the next generation of researchers.

STANSW will forward the major winning entries of the Young Scientist Awards to the BHP Billiton Science and Engineering Awards.

Related Stories

Education / K-12 Schools / STEM

Mar 23, 2017

AARNet robotics bursaries for national final newcomers

Four fledgling teams who reached the Australian regional final of an international robotics competition last week have been awarded AARNet bursaries to help them take part in the world championships in the US. The FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) Robotics Competition combines the excitement of sport...

Education / K-12 Schools / STEM

Mar 16, 2017

STEM mentoring award for AARNet director John Nicholls

AARNet’s head of infrastructure development has been recognised for inspiring and empowering students in a national robotics competition. John Nicholls was awarded the Woodie Flowers Finalist Award at this week’s FIRST® Robotics Southern Cross Regional competition after being nominated by students he mentored. The award celebrates effective communication in the art and...

Education / K-12 Schools / STEM

Nov 28, 2016

AARNet schools shine in digital challenge

Schools benefiting from AARNet’s high-speed internet services have again excelled in a nationwide competition aimed at inspiring young people to engage with digital technology. The Young ICT Explorers competition challenges school children from Year 3 to Year 12 to put the national ICT curriculum into practice by designing any technology...